You are hereIEEE SCVT 2011




18th IEEE Symposium on Communications 

and Vehicular Technology in the Benelux

Ghent, 22-23 November 2011


IEEE Catalog Number: CFP11507-USB
ISBN: 978-1-4577-1287-6

Gent1 Gent2 Gent3 Gent4 Gent5


Tuesday November 22, 2011

18:30 - 19:30 Welcome, sandwiches

19:30 - 21:00

Session on low-power and low-radiation wireless networking


Radiation and Exposure Issues of Wireless Communication 
Prof. Dr. Luc Martens
Ghent University, Belgium

Power optimization in Wireless Body Sensor Networks: ECG wireless patch 
Dr. Guido Dolmans
IMEC-NL, The Netherlands

21:00 Reception

Wednesday November 23, 2011

08:30 - 09:00 Registration and coffee/tea

09:00 - 10:00

Keynote Talk


Protocols and Techniques for Data Dissemination in ITS 
Prof. Falko Dressler
University of Innsbruck, Austria

Much progress can be observed in the domain of Inter-Vehicular Communication (IVC), looking back at the last decade. The objectives of this lecture are twofold: In the first part, an introduction to recent developments in the field of IVC protocols and the used methods is provided. In the second part, we look at selected examples including the most recently presented Adaptive Traffic Beacon (ATB) protocol. Read more

10:00 - 10:20 Coffee break

10:20 - 12:20


Oral session 1 - Regular presentations


On the End-to-End Delay Analysis for an IEEE 802.11P/WAVE Protocol
Nuno Ferreira, José Fonseca
Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal


Performance Evaluation of a Wavelet Packet-based Spectrum Estimator for Cognitive Radio Applications
Roy Venkat, Homayoun Nikookar
Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands


Data traffic differentiation and QoS on the train, in fast parameter varying, heterogeneous wireless networks
Milos Rovcanin, Daan Pareit, Dries Naudts, Erwin Van de Velde, Johan Bergs, Ingrid Moerman, Chris Blondia
Ghent University and University of Antwerp, Belgium


Adaptive Resource Allocation Using Kalman Filters in Busy and Idle Bands for WPM-based Cognitive Radio Systems
Xin Jin, Abdelwaheb Marzouki, Li-Chuan Tseng, Mathew Goonewardena
Telecom SudParis, France and National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan


Multiple Polarized MIMO with Antenna Selection
Aamir Habib
Vienna University of Technology, Austria


Full Diversity Random LDPC codes
Dieter Duyck, Joseph J. Boutros, Marc Moeneclaey
Ghent University, Belgium


12:20 - 13:10 Lunch

13:10 - 14:40


Poster session


Design of an Integrated Mobile System to Measure Blood Pressure
Ashraf Tahat, Anwar Saccca, Yazeed Kheetan
Princess Sumaya University for Technology, Jordan


Cryptopgrahic Accelerator for 802.15.4 Transceivers with Key Agreement Engine based on Montgomery Arithmetic
Antonio de la Piedra, Abdellah Touhafi, Gianluca Cornetta
Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium and Universidad San Pablo CEU, Spain


Flow Aware Admission Control–Multipath protocol with multiple Constraints (FAAC-MM) for assurance of multiple QoS metrics in MANETs
Muhammad Asif, Zhili Sun, Haitham Cruickshank, Naveed Ahmad
University of Surrey, UK


Antenna Selection in Polarization Diverse MIMO Transmissions with Convex Optimization
Aamir Habib, Bujar Krasniqi, Markus Rupp
Vienna University of Technology, Austria


A low-complexity algorithm for joint spectrum and signal coordination in upstream DSL transmission
Paschalis Tsiaflakis, Rodrigo B. Moraes, Marc Moonen
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium


Energy Efficient PRACH Detector Algorithm in SDR for LTE Femtocells
Asier Freire-Irigoyen, Rodolfo Torrea-Duran, Sofie Pollin, Min Li, Eduardo Lopze, Liesbet Van der Perre
IMEC, Belgium


Energy-Aware Path Selection for Scheduled Lightpaths in IP-over-WDM Networks
Song Yang, Fernando Kuipers
Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands


Real-time Wide-band Spectrum Sensing for Cognitive Radio
Wei Liu, Opher Yaron, Ingrid Moerman
Ghent University, Belgium


Parallel Concatenation vs. Serial Concatenation Turbo Codes for Wireless Sensor Networks
Nashat Abughalieh, Kris Steenhaut, Ann Nowe
Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium


A high performance KPN based reconfigurable SDR architecture
Hasan Ijaz, Asim Saeed Khan, Ejaz Sadiq, Saad Bin Nasir, Shoab Ahmed Khan
Center for Advanced Research in Engineering, Pakistan


A Comprehensive Performance Analysis of LTE and Mobile WiMAX
Fahimeh Rezaei, Michael Hempel, Hamid Sharif
University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA


Performance of Chirped-FSK and Chirped-PSK in the Presence of Partial-band Interference
Ramen Dutta, Andre B. J. Kokkeler, Ronan v.d. Zee, Mark J. Bentum
University of Twente, The Netherlands


Analysis of the MAC Performances in 802.11g Radio-over-Fiber Systems
Sebastien Deronne, Veronique Moeyaert, Sebastien Bette
University of Mons, Belgium


Compatible DSDV Routing Protocol with Specifications of Wireless Mesh Networks
Mohsen Imani, Behnam Hassanabadi, Majid Naderi
Iran University of Science and Technology, Iran and University of Toronto, Canada


Adaptive Push-based Data Broadcasting in Asymmetric Wireless Environments with Low Computational Complexity
Marianna Polatoglou, Petros Nicopolitidis, Georgios Papadimitriou
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece


Performance Analysis of Wireless Sensor Network Node Localization Algorithm
Ruxandra-Ioana Rusnac, Aurel Gontean
Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania

14:40 - 15:00 Coffee break

15:00 - 17:00


Oral session 2 - Invited presentations


Suitability of the wireless testbed w-iLab.t for VANET research
Wim Vandenberghe
Ghent University, Belgium


Applications and trends in wireless acoustic sensor networks: a signal processing perspective
Alexander Bertrand
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium


Multi-antenna techniques and beamforming for communication systems
Rob Mestrom
Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands


Supporting Mobility in Wireless Body Area Networks: an Analysis
Bart Braem
University of Antwerp, Belgium


Wireless Power and Data Transmision for Robotic Capsule Endoscopes
Riccardo Carta
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium


MIMO techniques for Satellite Communications
Bhavani Shankar
University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg



17:00 - 17:15 Awards and closure
17:15 Drinks



Organizing committee

IEEE SCVT 2011 is organised by the following people:

  • Ingrid Moerman
  • Jeroen Hoebeke
  • Heidi Steendam

Executive committee

This year's Executive committee consists of:

  • Marc Engels
  • Homayoun Nikookar
  • Heidi Steendam
  • Nader Alagha
  • Fernando Kuipers
  • Marc Bentum
  • Chris Blondia
  • Piet Demeester
  • Joel Grotz
  • Jan Haagh
  • Guy Leduc
  • Adrian Pais
  • Thierry Pollet
  • Serge Prohoroff
  • Frederik Simoens
  • Laurent Schumacher
  • Luc Vandendorpe